Research Databases


Alphabetical list
of all databases

Databases by Category

Arts and Entertainment

Automotive and Home Repair

Biography

Business and Finance

eBooks

Education

Encyclopedias

Genealogy

General Reference &
 Current Events

Government and Law

Health and Medicine

History and Geography

Homework and Tests

Literature and Reader's Advisory

Music

Newspapers and Periodicals

Ohio

Science and Technology

Art and Entertainment

Art & Architecture Database
This resource contains more than 54,000 digital images from seventeen art museums around the world, including the Cleveland Museum of Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Victoria and Albert Museum. Art & Architecture Database Help

Internet Movie Database
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is a HUGE collection of movie information. This free site serves as a catalog of every pertinent detail about a movie, from who was in it, to who made it, to trivia about it, to filming locations, and even where you can find reviews and fan sites on the web. 

Automotive & Home Repair

ALLDATA
Current, comprehensive automotive information, including: engine-specific diagnostic and repair procedures, electrical diagrams, maintenance schedules and tables, daily updates of TSBs and recalls and parts and labor for estimating.
This is only available at the library.

Automotive Repair Reference Center includes more than 31,660 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; over 205,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs; approximately 75,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; over 130,000 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; AutoIQ; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance; unlimited remote access and much more. New repair procedures and updates will also be added continuously. All of the content in Auto Repair Reference Center has been created by ASE certified technicians.

Home Improvement Reference Center is the definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. The database also contains full text for many other related publications that help to supplement and support the unique full-text reference works and images from CPi. This resource is made available through its own specialized interface to make searching for information of interest as easy as possible

Small Engine Repair Reference Center is the definitive online tool for small engine repair assistance, including: ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, motorcycles, marine (boats), outdoor power equipment, PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski), snowblowers, snowmobiles, tillers and other small engines. This comprehensive resource contains 407 reference books in full text with original photos and illustrations that guide the user through every job. The database often contains more than 25 years of an engine model, and offers assistance in providing routine maintenance, such as tune-ups and brake service, as well as extensive repairs involving engine and transmission disassembly. Also, the database allows users to select a type of product, specific brand, specific model/engine type, and specific area of that model/engine type. Additionally, model numbers will also be searchable.

Biography

American National Biography
An exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.

Biographies Plus Illustrated
H. W. Wilson's collection of 120,000+ biographies from over 60 reference titles, thousands of biographical magazine articles, and over 32,000 printable images. Search by name, profession, ethnic background, place of birth, and more. Quick Tip Sheet (in PDF format) Quickstart Guide (in PDF format)

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
(© The Gale Group) -- Indexes current reference sources, such as Who's Who, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Biography Resource Center
(© The Gale Group) -- A database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by person, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.

Business and Finance

Barron's Online - User: hudsonlibrary Password: library
Updated daily, Barron's Online, the subscription-based online version of America's premier financial weekly magazine, combines exclusive online articles with analysis, and statistics.

Business & Company Resource Center
(© The Gale Group) -- Integrates Gale's business and industry reference works. It contains listings for 448,000 U.S. and international companies, extensive essays for 1,115 industrial categories, 7,000 tables and charts, 3,600 market share reports and 120,000 company rankings. In addition, 3,000 company histories and 1,500 company chronologies are available for the most prominent businesses in the world.

Business and Industry Index
An index to important facts, figures and key events for international public and private companies, industries, products, and markets for manufacturing and service industries. Indexes over 1,300 sources from 1994 to present.

Business and Management Practices
Indexes management issues and business practices articles from almost 800 journals from 1995 to present. Topics include business plans, quality control, and technology. Focuses on practical aspects and approaches to business.

Business Dateline
(© UMI) -- Provides access to full­text articles from more than 530 newspapers, city business magazines, wire services in the United States and Canada. An essential business information tool for monitoring the latest trends in industry, health, environmental issues, education, and much more.

Business Leader Profiles
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Covers 350 prominent individuals who have made significant contributions to business and industry. Profiles range from 1,250 to 2,500 words in length.

Business Organizations, Agencies & Publications Directory
Abstracts describing business organizations' products and services including information such as founding date, membership size, and publications. Covers over 34,000 business organizations and trade associations and is updated annually.

Consumer Index
(© Pierian Press, Inc.) -- Consumer Index provides access to more than 100,000 product evaluations, tests, alerts, warnings, and recalls of specific products, services, and facilities covered in about 120 periodicals and/or related services of federal agencies (e.g., news releases by various agencies). Also included are citations with abstracts for more than 75,000 articles on all aspects of consumerism and consumer protection.

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots
(© Disclosure Inc.) -- Contains information about more than 12,000 corporations whose shares are traded in the U.S. Includes address, phone, SIC codes, ticker symbols and brief descriptions. Coverage is from 1986 - present.

ReferenceUSA
Directory information for 11 million U.S. businesses, 1 million Canadian businesses, 120 million U.S. households, 11 million Canadian residents, and 683,000 U.S. health care providers. Search for businesses by SIC code, sales volume number of employees and more. Help

Valueline Investment Survey
(© Value Line) -- The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.
This is only available at the library.

Wall Street Journal
(ProQuest Direct, © UMI) -- The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Full text of articles covering 1984 to present.

Worldscope
Financial reports on companies worldwide including information from a variety of sources and documents from corporations all over the world such as business descriptions, financial information, and officers.

eBooks

Library On-Demand
The CLEVNET libraries offers downloadable music, audio books and e-books. With hundreds of titles to choose from, you can download and listen to your favorite books without ever leaving the comfort of your home. Audio books play on your PC or laptop, a portable device (like a PDA). Help
  • eBooks in the Adobe® Reader® format (eBooks optimized for on-screen reading)
  • eBooks in the Mobipocket Reader format (eBooks optimized for on-screen reading & transfer to an array of portable devices)
  • Digital audio books and videos in the OverDrive Media Console™ format
  • Music in the OverDrive Media Console™ format

Netlibrary
Explore digital versions of books, journals, and database content. FAQ

Education

OH! Teach
The OH! Teach page is a collaborative project of OPLIN & INFOhio and provides linked information for Ohio's teachers, educators, and school library media specialists. To get started, choose a subtopic that interests you. Need some new lesson plan ideas? How about connections to professional organizations or e-zines related to education? Why not try some of the innovative teaching techniques? What about exploring new subject sites to enhance the classroom curriculum?

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
(© Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.) -- Includes all of the text of the print set, plus thousands of additional articles, digital images, Internet links tied directly to the articles, statistics for over 190 nations, Merriam Webster's 10th Collegiate Dictionary (including pronunciation guides and word histories), and special multi-media databases. Search Tips & Advice Guided Tour

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. This database is accessed through EBSCOhost.

Ohio History Central Encyclopedia
© 1998 - 2005 Ohio Historical Society -- Ohio History Central is an evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia that includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history. Each section contains written information, maps, timelines, and images. Many of these pages link with one another to form a complete and informative perspective.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
(© The Gale Group) -- Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.

Genealogy

America's Obituaries & Death Notices
Full text access to several national newspapers including the Cleveland Plain Dealer, Akron Beacon Journal, USA Today, and more.

Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Plus has been replaced by the publisher with Ancestry Library Edition (Proquest). The Passenger & Immigration Lists (P.I.L.I.) are no longer included in this database. New content includes: the Immigration Collection, which features New York and San Francisco Passenger Lists and the New York Petitions for Naturalization Index. Ancestry Library Edition features more than 1.2 billion records of interest to genealogy researchers, including digitized images of the U.S. Census from 1790 forward and the Social Security Death Index.
This is only available at the library.

Cleveland Necrology File
The Cleveland Necrology File contains local cemetery records and newspaper death notices for the following years: 1833, 1847-1848, 1850-1975. A more complete description of the file’s contents can be found in the “About” section of the database. For necrology information after 1975, please use the Cleveland News Index.

HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest Online features three significant genealogy resources: The complete U. S. Census, 1790-1930, features new and more accurate indexes (in progress), searchable by place of birth, age, ethnicity, etc. (Click on the "What's New" link in the database to determine which indexes have been completed.) The fully searchable Periodical Source Index (PERSI) features more than 1.6 million citations from 6,500 genealogy periodicals. HeritageQuest's online collection of more than 25,000 family and local history books are searchable by every word.

Ohio Death Certificate Index 1913-1944
This database indexes Death Certificates of persons that died in Ohio in the above years, useful for determining date of death and certificate number. Using the index information, a researcher can later obtain a copy of the certificate itself, which holds further information. More precise searching is now available using the Advanced Search that allows searching by certificate number, volume number and exact date of death.

Ohio Military Rosters - War of 1812
Search the full text of the roster from the Adjutant General records. Ohio furnished 1,759 Officers and 24,521 enlisted men for this war. Brought to you by the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN.

WorldCat
(© OCLC) -- The world's largest bibliographic database.  It contains information about more than 68 million items owned by 7,600 libraries around the world.  Constant growth makes WorldCat a rich resource for genealogists who seek primary source materials.

 

General Reference & Current Events

Bartleby
(© Bartleby) -- The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.

Black History Month Resource Center
Includes over 75 biographies, a four-century-long historical timeline, excerpts from the Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature and an assortment of activities like the Black History Month quiz.
CultureGrams Online
Explore different cultures from all over the world as well as the 50 states through photos, maps, recipes, biographies and more.

Discovering Collection
(© The Gale Group) -- This cross-curricular reference resource combines thousands of biographies, topical overviews, and critical analyses in the subjects of History, Science and Literature in a single database that supports classroom learning.

Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more. This database contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 800 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers. Additionally, this database contains the Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century, providing students with a searchable collection of some of the most important social, political, and cultural moments of the 20th century.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
(© Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc.) -- Includes all of the text of the print set, plus thousands of additional articles, digital images, Internet links tied directly to the articles, statistics for over 190 nations, Merriam Webster's 10th Collegiate Dictionary (including pronunciation guides and word histories), and special multi-media databases. Search Tips & Advice Guided Tour

FactSearch
Facts and statistics on topics of current interest.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. This database is accessed through EBSCOhost.

Hispanic Heritage Month Resource Center
Includes over 50 biographies, a five-century-long historical timeline and an assortment of activities such as the Hispanic culture quiz or planning a Cinco de Mayo celebration.

INFOTRAC OneFile
(© The Gale Group) -- Search over 8 million articles by subject or keyword. The General Reference Center is a single point of access to full-text and image sources: periodicals, journals, reference books, investment reports, dictionaries, newsletters, pamphlets, maps, and more.

Ohio Legal Services
Guide to legal services for Ohioans; includes searchable directory of free and low cost legal assistance, law library materials, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides full text access to the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other sources to provide a one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on over 100 controversial issues.

Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource. Search Help

Poetry Resource Center
Includes over 30 biographies, a historical timeline of events that traces the poetry movement and an assortment of activities such as a quiz based on poets and their works. Numerous poems can be found here as well.

Student Research Center
Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. 

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
(© The Gale Group) -- Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.

Women's History Month Resource Center
Includes over 65 biographies, a historical timeline and an assortment of activities such as a quiz based on women and their achievements.

WorldCat
(© OCLC) -- The world's most comprehensive bibliography with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century. Includes holdings information from the world's libraries.

Government and Law

Firstgov
(© FirstGov.gov) -- The official U.S. gateway to all government information and services.

Gale Legal Forms
Provides a wide selection of Ohio legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

Ohio Capital Connection
Search and retrieve the full text of all House and Senate bills introduced or passed in the Ohio General Assembly from 1987 to the present. OCC FAQs

Health and Medicine

AccessScience Medicine
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology on the Web. Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates — in all areas of science and technology — updated daily. Quickstart Guide (PDF)

Health Source: Consumer Edition
With Health Source - Consumer Edition you can search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source -Consumer Edition features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
(® U.S. National Library of Medicine) -- The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from over 3,900 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries during the current four years. Contains over 9 million records dating back to 1966.

MEDLINEPLUS
(© MedlinePlus) -- MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. FAQ

NetWellness
(© University of Cincinnati) -- Includes periodicals (indexing to over 150 titles with selective indexing and full text of health-related articles from over 2500 general interest periodicals), pamphlets (full text coverage of over 500 medical education pamphlets) and reference books (full text coverage of Mosby's Medical Dictionary, The People's Book of Medical Texts, Oryx Press Consumer Health Information Source Book, USPDI Drug Information in Lay Language, and Columbia University Complete Home Medical Guide. Help

Teen Health & Wellness Database
The critically acclaimed database from Rosen Online, provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life and more.

History and Geography

African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920
This digital collection of historical documents is part of "American Memory", an online resource by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program and was brought to you with the assistance of an award from The Library of Congress / Ameritech National Digital Library Competition. It provides an overview of Ohio's African-American experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them.

thumbAfrican-American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo

Annals of American History
Annals of American History illuminates U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents—the original words of history-makers. Read works by historical figures such as Davy Crockett, Henry Ford, Madeleine Albright, John Hancock, Malcolm X, and Edgar Allen Poe. Included are historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials and cultural criticism, as well as more than 500 pictures, hundreds of video clips & audio of famous speeches. Also includes a historical timeline of events. Guided Tour Help Quickstart Guide (PDF)

thumbAmerican History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo

thumbAmerican Indian History Online
Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage.    
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo

thumbAmerican Women's History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo Coming Soon

thumbAncient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo Coming Soon

Black History Month Resource Center
Includes over 75 biographies, a four-century-long historical timeline, excerpts from the Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature and an assortment of activities like the Black History Month quiz.

Hispanic Heritage Month Resource Center
Includes over 50 biographies, a five-century-long historical timeline and an assortment of activities such as the Hispanic culture quiz or planning a Cinco de Mayo celebration.

thumbModern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present.
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo Coming Soon

Ohio History Central Encyclopedia
© 1998 - 2005 Ohio Historical Society -- Ohio History Central is an evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia that includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history. Each section contains written information, maps, timelines, and images. Many of these pages link with one another to form a complete and informative perspective.

Ohio Historical Society Searchable Databases
This collection of searchable databases (many of which were created under the Ohio Vital Information for Libraries Center, a grant-funded project of OHS supported by the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN) includes: Online Documents, Online Research Tools, Online Services, and On-location Services.

Ohio History Online
A compendium of links on Ohio history compiled by OPLIN.

Women's History Month Resource Center
Includes over 65 biographies, a historical timeline and an assortment of activities such as a quiz based on women and their achievements.

World Data Analyst
Detailed statistics for more than 200 countries that can be compared in tables and charts. Highest and lowest statistics available.

Homework and Tests

Annals of American History
Annals of American History illuminates U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents—the original words of history-makers. Included are historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials and cultural criticism, as well as more than 500 pictures, hundreds of video clips & audio of famous speeches. Also includes a historical timeline of events. Guided Tour Help Quickstart Guide (PDF)

Bartleby
(© Bartleby) -- The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.

Biography Resource Center
(© The Gale Group) -- A database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Searchable by person, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Search Tips

Black History Month Resource Center
Includes over 75 biographies, a four-century-long historical timeline, excerpts from the Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature and an assortment of activities like the Black History Month quiz.

Business Leader Profiles
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Covers 350 prominent individuals who have made significant contributions to business and industry. Profiles range from 1,250 to 2,500 words in length.

Contemporary Novelists
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Contains biographical/critical essays on the most important living novelists writing in English worldwide.

Contemporary Poets
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Provides biographical and bibliographical information on 789 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets, including 120 new to this edition. Entries include personal and career information, addresses, a detailed bibliography, a list of further reading sources, and more. Each entry also includes a signed critical essay covering each poet's career and works, written by an expert in the field.

CultureGrams Online
Explore different cultures from all over the world as well as the 50 states through photos, maps, recipes, biographies and more.

Discovering Collection
(© The Gale Group) -- This cross-curricular reference resource combines thousands of biographies, topical overviews, and critical analyses in the subjects of History, Science and Literature in a single database that supports classroom learning.

Hispanic Heritage Month Resource Center
Includes over 50 biographies, a five-century-long historical timeline and an assortment of activities such as the Hispanic culture quiz or planning a Cinco de Mayo celebration.

INFOTRAC OneFile
(© The Gale Group) -- Search over 8 million articles by subject or keyword. The General Reference Center is a single point of access to full-text and image sources: periodicals, journals, reference books, investment reports, dictionaries, newsletters, pamphlets, maps, and more.

In the First Person
In the First Person provides in-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories in English from around the world. Help

Learning Express Library
Interactive online practice tests, skills assessments and tutorial course series. Advanced Placement, GED, TOEFL, and more! Quickstart Guide

Literature Resource Center
(© The Gale Group) -- Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers. Coverage of 2,000 of the most studied authors. Searchable by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Combines Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and more.

LitFinder
(© Thomson Gale) -- Litfinder provides access to thousands of full-text poems, stories, plays and speeches and essays, in addition to a glossary of poetic terminology, essays on poetry, author biographies and illustrations. Each work meets standard, literary and K-12 curriculum lists nationwide.

Nonfiction Classics for Students
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Provides in-depth literary and historical background on the most commonly studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs in a streamlined, easy-to-use format. Covering 15-20 works per volume, this reference series gives high-school and undergraduate students an ideal starting point for class assignments, term papers, and special projects.

OH! Kids
OH! Kids is the Ohio Public Library Information Network (OPLIN) area for kids ages 11 and under. Homework Help, safe and educational links geared for kids are available.

OH! Teens
OH! Teens is the Ohio Public Library Information Network (OPLIN) area for teens and young adults. Information about life after high school, real life issues, homework help, and entertainment are available.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides full text access to the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other sources to provide a one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on over 100 controversial issues.

Poetry Resource Center
Includes over 30 biographies, a historical timeline of events that traces the poetry movement and an assortment of activities such as a quiz based on poets and their works. Numerous poems can be found here as well.

Student Research Center
Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. 

What Tree Is It?
This web site will help identify unknown trees through the leaves and fruits from the common trees of Ohio. Identify trees by leaves, fruits or name. Created by OPLIN and the Ohio Historical Society.

What's That Snake?
Search for and find information on the 30 species and subspecies of snakes that are found in Ohio.
Site Overview

What's The Point?
A program created by OPLIN and the Ohio Historical Society that is designed to help users identify flint artifacts, the archeological time periods and which of Ohio's prehistoric Native American peoples may have used the flint that is being searched for.

Women's History Month Resource Center
Includes over 65 biographies, a historical timeline and an assortment of activities such as a quiz based on women and their achievements.

Literature and Reader's Advisory

Bartleby
(© Bartleby) -- The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.

Dear Reader Online Book Club
Each day we'll email you a 5-minute portion of a book. During the week you can read 2-3 chapters and decide if you want to check the book out of the library. Every Monday we start new books. Sign up and start reading.

Contemporary Novelists
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Contains biographical/critical essays on the most important living novelists writing in English worldwide.

Contemporary Poets
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Provides biographical and bibliographical information on 789 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets, including 120 new to this edition. Entries include personal and career information, addresses, a detailed bibliography, a list of further reading sources, and more. Each entry also includes a signed critical essay covering each poet's career and works, written by an expert in the field.

Literature Online
(© Chadwyck-Healey Ltd.) -- A fully searchable library of more than 260,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Quickstart Guide

Literature Resource Center
(© The Gale Group) -- Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers. Coverage of 2,000 of the most studied authors. Searchable by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary theme. Combines Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and more.

LitFinder
(© Thomson Gale) -- Litfinder provides access to thousands of full-text poems, stories, plays and speeches and essays, in addition to a glossary of poetic terminology, essays on poetry, author biographies and illustrations. Each work meets standard, literary and K-12 curriculum lists nationwide.

Nonfiction Classics for Students
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Provides in-depth literary and historical background on the most commonly studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs in a streamlined, easy-to-use format. Covering 15-20 works per volume, this reference series gives high-school and undergraduate students an ideal starting point for class assignments, term papers, and special projects.

Novelist
NoveList allows readers of all ages to use a favorite author or title to discover new books to read. You can also search NoveList's 96,000 title database by subject or genre. Quickstart Guide How to Search

Poetry Resource Center
Includes over 30 biographies, a historical timeline of events that traces the poetry movement and an assortment of activities such as a quiz based on poets and their works. Numerous poems can be found here as well.

What Do I Read Next?
(© The Gale Group) -- Use this database to find reading recommendations based on favorite titles or topics. Find books in a series or by genre. Covers fiction and non-fiction for all age levels. Also includes author biographies, award winners and bestsellers.

Music

 

Naxos Music Library: Sheet Music - powered by FreeHand Music
An online catalogue of currently 40,000 editions of classical music and jazz from some of the world’s most famous publishers, artists and composers. including the whole range of classical master, famous classical and jazz artists, thousands of original sheet music editions and exclusive archive collections such as those from Göteborg Library and Uppsala University Library.  Authorized users may download and print sheet music from the online catalogue, without any limitation.  Authorized users are NOT permitted to store a digital copy of the file downloaded, nor to store the product in an electronic format. If you are accessing this resource from home, both the username and password are "clevnet."

 

Newspapers and Periodicals

Akron Beacon Journal
Full text access to all content from 1985 to the present.

American's News Magazines (Newsbank)
America's News Magazines from NewsBank provides full-text articles from various familiar magazines in one easy-to-search database. These leading magazines provide coverage and analysis of current events in a range of categories including: news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports. Paid advertisements are excluded. Help

Chicago Tribune
Full text access to all content from 1985 to the present.
This is only available at the library.

Cincinnati Post
Full text access to all content from 1990 to the present.

Cleveland News Index
(© Cleveland Public Library) -- The online Cleveland News Index lists citation information for local news stories, feature articles and reviews from The Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999), Cleveland Magazine (1983-present), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990-present), and Ohio Magazine (Oct.1990 -present). Obituaries from the Plain Dealer and the Cleveland Press are included from 1976 to the present. Please note that this index does not provide full text access to these sources.

EBSCOhost Databases (All)
Academic Search Premier, Alt Health Watch, Business Source Premier, Computer Source: Consumer Edition, ERIC, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing & Academic, MAS FullTEXT Ultra, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection, Religion & Philosophy Collection, Sociological Collection and Vocational Search & Career Collection.
EBSCOhost Databases - Help

INFOTRAC OneFile
(© The Gale Group) -- Search over 8 million articles by subject or keyword. The General Reference Center is a single point of access to full-text and image sources: periodicals, journals, reference books, investment reports, dictionaries, newsletters, pamphlets, maps, and more.

MasterFILE Premier - (EBSCOhost)
MasterFILE Premier provides full text from over 1,900 magazines - general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural. It also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,510 other publications. For some titles, full text backfiles date from 1975. The database also contains full text for nearly 200 reference and travel books; 88,000 biographies; 60,000 primary source documents; and 91,000 photos, maps, and flags. Updated daily.

Miami Herald
Full text access to all content from 1983 to the present.
This is only available at the library.

National Newspapers (Newsbank)
Search newspapers from Buffalo, Chicago, Covington, Detroit, Huntington, Lexington, Louisville, Miami, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington D.C.
Tutorial

New York Times
(ProQuest Direct, © UMI) -- Coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Full text coverage of the previous 90 days.

Ohio Newspapers (Newsbank)
Search various Ohio newspapers.
Tutorial

Philadelphia Inquirer
Full text access to all content from 1981 to the present.
This is only available at the library.

Plain Dealer
Full text access to all content from 1991 to the present.

ProQuest Newspaper Search
Search multiple newspaper databases including Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW), Historical New York Times (1851-2001)Historical Chicago Defender, and other national newspapers.

Toledo Blade
Full text access to all content from 1997 to the present.
This is only available at the library.

Washington Post
Full text access to all content from 1977 to the present.

Wall Street Journal
(ProQuest Direct, © UMI) -- The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Full text of articles covering 1984 to present.

Ohio

African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920
This digital collection of historical documents is part of "American Memory", an online resource by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program and was brought to you with the assistance of an award from The Library of Congress / Ameritech National Digital Library Competition. It provides an overview of Ohio's African-American experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them.

Discover Ohio
Discover Ohio is the place to go to learn about anything you ever wanted to know about the Buckeye State. State symbols? How to get a driver's license? Population information? Fun places to visit? Discover Ohio has all of that and more! Quickstart Guide (PDF)

Fight for the Colors: Ohio Battle Flags
Provides online access to one of the most significant and popular Ohio Historical Society collections, the Ohio Battle Flag Collection. Ohio soldiers carried the flags, known as colors, in the Mexican War, Civil War, Spanish American War, World War I and World War II. There are more than five hundred flags in the collection, the majority of which are from the Civil War.

Ohio Capitol Connection
Search and retrieve the full text of all House and Senate bills introduced or passed in the Ohio General Assembly from 1987 to the present. OCC FAQs

Ohio Death Certificate Index 1913-1944
This database indexes Death Certificates of persons that died in Ohio in the above years, useful for determining date of death and certificate number. Using the index information, a researcher can later obtain a copy of the certificate itself, which holds further information. More precise searching is now available using the Advanced Search that allows searching by certificate number, volume number and exact date of death.

Ohio History Central Encyclopedia
© 1998 - 2005 Ohio Historical Society -- Ohio History Central is an evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia that includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history. Each section contains written information, maps, timelines, and images. Many of these pages link with one another to form a complete and informative perspective.

Ohio Historical Society Searchable Databases
This collection of searchable databases (many of which were created under the Ohio Vital Information for Libraries Center, a grant-funded project of OHS supported by the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN) includes: Online Documents, Online Research Tools, Online Services, and On-location Services.

Ohio History Online
A compendium of links on Ohio history compiled by OPLIN.

Ohio Memory Online
Discover 26,000 primary sources from 330 archives, historical societies, libraries and museums that document Ohio's history from prehistory to present.

Ohio Legal Services
Guide to legal services for Ohioans; includes searchable directory of free and low cost legal assistance, law library materials, and more.

Ohio Military Rosters - War of 1812
Search the full text of the roster from the Adjutant General records. Ohio furnished 1,759 Officers and 24,521 enlisted men for this war. Brought to you by the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN.

Ohio Newspapers
Search various Ohio newspapers. Tutorial

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
The Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides a searchable interface for locating historical Maps of Ohio towns and cities. These maps were digitized from microfilm copies by Chadwyck-Healey, a Bell & Howell Information and Learning company. The searchable database is a joint project of OPLIN and OhioLINK. Sanborn Maps Help

Science and Technology

AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology on the Web. Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates — in all areas of science and technology — updated daily.
Quickstart Guide (PDF)

thumbScience Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
More information: Info Sheet (PDF); Flash Demo