
| Library home > Historical Society > Genealogy > Databases |
Some of these databases are "premium" databases (highlighted in green), meaning that the HLHS pays a subscription for use of the database. Some databases are available in the library only. Some premium databases are available remotely, but you will likely be required to enter your library card number to access.
(* Denotes Premium Database)
American Ancestors (product of the New England Historic Genealogical Society)
The NEHGS research library, located in Boston, is home to more than 12 million original documents, artifacts, records, manuscripts, books, family papers, bibles, and photographs dating back more than four centuries. This incredible collection provides unprecedented access to information that is simply not available anywhere else. And every week, NEHGS scans and digitizes at least one new database to be made available on-line.
Available: Library Only
Ancestry Library Edition*
Ancestry Plus has been replaced by the publisher with Ancestry Library Edition (Proquest). The Passenger & Immigration Lists (P.I.L.I.) are no longer included in this database. New content includes: the Immigration Collection, which features New York and San Francisco Passenger Lists and the New York Petitions for Naturalization Index. Ancestry Library Edition features more than 1.2 billion records of interest to genealogy researchers, including digitized images of the U.S. Census from 1790 forward and the Social Security Death Index.
Available: Library Only
CastleGarden.org
CastleGarden.org is an educational project of The Battery Conservancy. This free site offers access to an extraordinary database of information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened. Over 100 million Americans can trace their ancestors to this early immigration period.
Cleveland Necrology File
The Cleveland Necrology File contains local cemetery records and newspaper death notices for the following years: 1833, 1847-1848, 1850-1975. A more complete description of the file’s contents can be found in the “About” section of the database. For necrology information after 1975, please use the Cleveland News Index.
FamilySearch
The FamilySearch site, a service provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, offers free family history, family tree and genealogy records and resources from around the world. The site features an online searchable database of many different records including the United States Census and the U.S. Social Security Death Index. Military, church, and vital records from the United States and from many different countries can also be searched on this site.
Fold3*
Source data is the foundation of academic research. In the past, researching key American historical documents was expensive, time consuming and frustrating. Fold3 has digitized and indexed over 50 million images of historical documents found nowhere else on the web and adds about 2 million new documents each month! In addition, Fold3 users can further enrich the data with information pertinent to the record through online tagging, and even uploading and adding their own content.
Available: Library Only
HeritageQuest*
HeritageQuest Online features three significant genealogy resources: The complete U. S. Census, 1790-1930, features new and more accurate indexes (in progress), searchable by place of birth, age, ethnicity, etc. (Click on the "What's New" link in the database to determine which indexes have been completed.) The fully searchable Periodical Source Index (PERSI) features more than 1.6 million citations from 6,500 genealogy periodicals. HeritageQuest's online collection of more than 25,000 family and local history books are searchable by every word.
Ohio Death Certificate Index 1913-1944
This database indexes Death Certificates of persons that died in Ohio in the above years, useful for determining date of death and certificate number. Using the index information, a researcher can later obtain a copy of the certificate itself, which holds additional information. More precise searching is now available using the Advanced Search that allows searching by certificate number, volume number and exact date of death.
Ohio Military Rosters - War of 1812
This database includes the full text of the roster from the Adjutant General records, which includes 1,759 Officers and 24,521 enlisted men in Ohio in this war. This data is being hosted by the Ohio Vital Information for Libraries Center (OVIL), a grant-funded project of OHS supported by the State Library of Ohio and OPLIN.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps*
The Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides a searchable interface for locating historical Maps of Ohio towns and cities. These maps were digitized from microfilm copies by Chadwyck-Healey, a Bell & Howell Information and Learning Company. The searchable database is a joint project of OPLIN and OhioLINK. Sanborn Maps Help
World Vital Records*
World Vital Records provides access to some of the best online genealogy records including immigration lists, census records, vital records, parish and land records. These records are regularly updated. Rare collections, such as passenger lists from immigrant vessels, yearbooks from US highschools and universities, manuscripts and major new census documents are amongst the best of the new collections. The search facility allows users to search by country, region or US state and to cross reference the results against a number of international records.
WorldCat*
The world's largest bibliographic database. It contains information about more than 68 million items owned by 7,600 libraries around the world. Constant growth makes WorldCat a rich resource for genealogists who seek primary source materials.